His Highness Sheikh Nahayan Mabarak Al Nahayan unveils ILT20 Trophy

His Highness Sheikh Nahayan Mabarak Al Nahayan unveils ILT20 Trophy

  • Trophy unveiled in the presence of leading League stakeholders and cricket-greats at an ILT20 function this evening
  • The franchise-style tournament – International League T20 –  boasting of 6 teams & 34 matches to be played across the UAE – will make its debut in January 2023  

UAE, Dubai, Monday October 10th, 2022: His Highness Sheikh Nahayan Mabarak Al Nahayan, Minister of Tolerance and Coexistence and Chairman, Emirates Cricket Board, unveiled the ILT20 trophy at an ILT20 stakeholder’s function hosted this evening attended by League stakeholders and cricket-greats.

Witnessing the unveiling, of one of the most distinctive trophies in cricket, were Jay Mehta (Abu Dhabi Knight Riders), Paul Voigt (Desert Vipers), Kiran Grandhi (Dubai Capitals), Pranav Adani (Gulf Giants), Nikhil Meswani (Owner – MI Emirates), Rajesh Sharma (Sharjah Warriors), and Punit Goenka (Zee Entertainment Enterprises), alongside Cricketing-greats Dwayne Bravo, Wasim Akram, Simon Doull, Robin Uthappa, and Brett Lee.

Mubashshir Usmani, General Secretary, Emirates Cricket Board said; “It is an exciting and significant milestone that the ILT20 trophy made its debut at this event, and it is a matter of delight to do so amongst our esteemed stakeholders of the League this evening.” “It was also very heartening to see that legendary cricketing figures could also participate in the celebration and commemoration of this historic event.”

Designed and constructed by world-renowned trophy makers, Thomas Lyte (England), the silver trophy brings together influences that reflect and honour UAE’s rich heritage and culture.  Leading this influence is UAE’s majesty icon and revered national bird – the falcon, whose teardrop shape makes up the trophy’s form, while the seven Emirates (of the UAE) are woven in through a 7-pointed crown, shaped as sand dunes inspired by the incredible sands of Tel Moreeb (Al Dhafra, Abu Dhabi) – considered to be the world’s tallest dunes, which proudly sits atop clasping a cricket ball, as the trophy’s finial. And, in a pointed nod to the UAE’s most famous landmark, the Burj Khalifa, the trophy stands 830mm, reflecting the height of the Burj Khalifa which measures 830m from ground to tip.

“The team is incredibly proud of this magnificent piece, it truly reflects the essence and the spirit of the League, and we expect it will become a much-coveted trophy which will take pride-of-place in the winning team’s (trophy) cabinet for years to come.” Usmani added.

Cricket fans across the world can catch the LIVE telecast of this exciting cricket league on ZEE’s linear channels, digital platform, Zee5 as well as Zee Cinema SD, Zee Cinema HD, Zee Anmol Cinema, &Pictures HD, &Flix SD, &Flix HD, Zee Zest SD, Zee Zest HD, Zee Bangla Cinema and Zee Thirai. 

Franchise teams, comprising 84 International and 24 UAE-based players, include Abu Dhabi Knight Riders (Kolkata Knight Riders), Desert Vipers (Lancer Capital), Dubai Capitals (GMR), Gulf Giants (Adani Sportsline), MI Emirates (Reliance Industries), and Sharjah Warriors (Capri Global). ILT20 news, updates and interactive chat can be found via @ILT20Official on facebook, twitter, instagram, tiktok, snap chat and linkedin.

– Ends –

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s