Zahoor Khan and Delport help Deccan Gladiators record their first victory

Zahoor Khan and Delport help Deccan Gladiators record their first victory

Team Abu Dhabi pay the price for a poor start and crash to a six-wicket defeat in their first match of the fourth edition

Abu Dhabi, January 29, 2021
UAE’s medium pacer Zahoor Khan and South Africa’s experienced batsman Cameron Delport steered Deccan Gladiators to a six-wicket win over Team Abu Dhabi in third match of the second day of the Abu Dhabi T10 at the Abu Dhabi Zayed Cricket Stadium.

Zahoor Khan and Imtiaz Ahmed, hailing from India’s northern state of Uttar Pradesh, bowled accurately to restrict Team Abu Dhabi to 95 for 9 in 10 overs. Khan returned with figures of 3 for 13 from his two overs while Ahmed took two crucial wickets in the first over for eight runs.

Deccan Gladiators, who were beaten by the Pune Devils on the first day, won the toss and elected to field. Team Abu Dhabi, playing their first game of this edition, opened their innings with Chris Gayle and Luke Wright. Gayle hit the first ball from Imtiaz Ahmed for a boundary to mid-wicket. Thirty-five-year-old medium pacer Ahmed, struck with the third ball through an accurate yorker to clean bowl Gayle for 4. He also clean bowled Paul Stirling with the fifth ball of that over for 4 runs. Ben Duckett, joined his skipper Luke Wright and attempted many risky shots. Aaron Summers made Duckett top edge to Zahoor Khan, who took a well-judged catch in the third over.

Three down for 30 in the first three overs, Gladiators introduced veteran leg spinner Imran Tahir. He bowled tightly except the last ball of his over which was hit for a six by Joe Clarke.

Zahoor Khan, through an intelligent change of pace, clean bowled Clarke for 21. Khan also had Najibullah Zadran brilliantly caught by Imran Tahir at long leg in the same over. Thus half the side was back in the dug-out for just 54 runs.

Wright kept the score board moving but got run out in the eighth over for 25 through a fine throw from Cameron Delport at long on. Through a direct hit, Imtiaz Ahmed ran out Jamie Ovetron. Sunil Narine and Zahoor Khan gave away five and six runs respectively to also take one wicket each in the last two overs.

Gladiators began their chase through openers Mohammad Shahzad and Cameron Delport. After Naveed Ul Hassan was hit for 20 runs in the second over, UAE spinner Rohan Mustafa and Obed McCoy, a left-arm pacer from West Indies, gave away just six and three runs respectively from their next two overs. In the fifth over, Overton gave the breakthrough by having Shahzad caught by Stirling at deep cover for 21.

Skipper Kieron Pollard joined Delport and at the half way stage Gladiators needed 48 runs. Delport began to stroke freely from the sixth over and hit McCoy for a six and a boundary to pick 17 runs off the over.

Though Mustafa clean bowled Delport for 40 in the eighth over, Gladiators needed only ten more runs to win from the last two overs. Overton removed Pollard for 24 and Azam Khan off successive balls of the last over when Gladiators needed just two runs. Sunil Narine hit the winning run by slashing Overton to the boundary to win with two balls to spare.

Brief scores
Deccan Gladiators beat Team Abu Dhabi by six wickets. Team Abu Dhabi 95 for 9 in 10 overs. (Luke Wright 25, Joe Clarke 21, Imtiaz Ahmed 2 for 8, Zahoor Khan 3 for 13) Team Abu Dhabi 98 for 4 in 9.4 overs (Mohammad Shahzad 21, Cameron Delport 40, Kieron Pollard 24, Jamie Overton 3 for 18) Man of the match: Zahoor Khan

Editor’s Notes

About Abu Dhabi T10

Abu Dhabi T10 is the world’s only ten-over cricket tournament officially sanctioned by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and licensed by the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB). It is the first ever internationally approved ten-over format competition.

The second edition of Abu Dhabi T10 will be held from 28th January – 6th February 2020. Abu Dhabi T10 is a UAE league that has now become a globally accepted cricket format. Matches have 10-over-a-side format and duration of 45 minutes a side totalling 90 minutes of play.

The tournament is played over ten days, with a round robin followed by semi-finals and the final. The Abu Dhabi T10 tournament is a short, high energy format loved by global audiences and international cricket stars alike.

Media Contact Information

Abu Dhabi T10
Tara Grewal
Cell : +97150 4981959/+919878511197
Email :

Muhammad Yusuf
Cell : +97152 9723419
Email :

India and Sri Lanka
Shivashish Chanda
Cell : +919811327887
Email :

Suleman Jazib
Cell : +92 3033333106/+97155 6881577
Email :

Shayaree Islam
Cell : +97152 1737484
Email :

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s