Ghalia Group announced as the new title sponsor for T10 League

Ghalia Group announced as the new title sponsor for T10 League

Dubai, November 15, 2018 :The T10 Sports Management has announced Ghalia Group as the new Title Sponsor for T10 League that will take place at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium from November 21 to December 2, 2018.

Now in its second season, the T10 League is the world’s first 10-over international professional cricket league approved by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and licensed by Emirates Cricket Board (ECB).

Welcoming Ghalia Group as the Title Sponsor of the T10 League, Shaji Ul Mulk, Chairman T10 League, said, “The UAE’s private sector organisations have been showing strong support to the T10 League – a major sporting asset – which will go a long way in further popularising the ten-over cricket format. I am pleased to welcome Ghalia Group to the T10 League – which will help build the brand’s corporate image and to spread its messages to the consumers as it expands into the airline business in India.”

Ghalia Group, a UAE-based conglomerate with sprawling ventures in oil and gas, aviation, information technology and financial technology sectors has added a new feather to its cap as the title sponsors of the T10 League.

Mr. Zahid Hussein, the Managing Partner of Ghalia Group, expressed his pleasure with the association, “We are delighted to support the T10 League, supported by the Emirates Cricket Board and share the same vision as the promoters of the T10 League. As a UAE home-grown business, we feel privileged to partake in such an international tournament where we would mutually benefit from the media exposure as we foray in to the aviation business in India.”

Ghalia Group includes Ghalia Petrol – a Sharjah-based major crude oil trader has also recently invested in the Indian aviation industry by acquiring two regional airlines, Air Deccan and Air Odisha and is also setting up a US$2 billion AeroCity in Andhra Pradesh. Ghalia Group plans to invest $10 million as well as restructure the two Indian airline companies, following its recent acquisition of the two airlines to consolidate its position as low cost domestic air carrier.

The 2018 edition scheduled to start from November 21 and spread over 12 days, will have 29 matches as compared to a 4-day event in 2017. In order to meet this new development and in an effort to keep the event clean, the T10 League management has made many positive changes to bolster the execution and operations of the 2018 T10 League tournament.

Col. Arvinder Singh, COO of T10 League, said, “I heartily welcome The Ghalia Group to the T10 fraternity. This is a mutually beneficial alignment as we move towards showcasing this latest format to the cricketing world.”

Mr. Zahid Hussein concludes by saying, “With our latest acquisition of Air Deccan and Air Odisha, Ghalia Group looks forward to focus on downstream trading activities with primary focus on Oil and Energy, Aviation and Technology. The T10 League provides us with the perfect platform to reach out to our consumers.”

T10 League promises to be new and exciting format of cricket for the ardent fans of the sport. The eight teams – Kerala Kings, Punjab Legends, Maratha Arabians, Bengal Tigers, The Karachians, Rajputs, Northern Warriors and Pakhtoons – have been drawn in to two groups to battle it out in the second season of T10 League that takes place at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium from November 21 to December 2, 2018.

The T10 League matches will be telecast live through Sony ESPN and Sony ESPN HD in India, Ten Sports in Pakistan, Ten Cricket in Middle East and North Africa and will also be streamed on SonyLIV app.

Editor’s Note

About T10 Cricket League

T10 Cricket League is a professional ten-over format Cricket League launched by T10 Sports Management. It is approved by the Emirates Cricket Board and the International Cricket Council. It is the first ever internationally ten-over format approved league.

Matches have 10-over-a-side format and duration of 90 minutes. The tournament is played over ten days, with a round robin followed by semi-finals and the final. The 2017 edition was played from 14-17 December at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium. In August 2018, the International Cricket Council (ICC) officially sanctioned the league.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s